Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) covers the period of learning for children in Nursery and Reception.  The curriculum is presented in a rich, stable, caring and effective environment that enables each child to reach their full potential.

At Chater Infant School we adhere to the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage. This has four overarching principles. These are:

  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers;
  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

EYFS Topic Table

Term Autumn Spring Summer
  1st half 2nd half 1st half 2nd half 1st half 2nd half
Nursery Ourselves and Autumn Festivals and Celebrations Wild Animals Growing and Changing Farm Animals Minibeasts
Reception Ourselves and Autumn Festivals and Celebrations Winter Journeys Growing Food

Topic-led Approach

At Chater Infant School the EYFS curriculum has been designed to ensure that every child meets their learning potential.   As a culturally rich and diverse school with over 40 languages spoken and a majority of children speaking English as an additional language we believe that our children will learn best through a topic-led approach.   The EYFS topics have been carefully chosen to ensure that there is progression between Nursery and Reception as well as progression of learning throughout the year. Through our topics, we ensure that there is challenge, purposeful learning and an opportunity for the children to learn through real-life experiences. The topics are motivating and inspiring to ensure that pupils are actively engaged with their learning. The topics over the course of the academic year may change according the children’s interests and fascinations.

In the EYFS there are seven areas of the curriculum. These are split into two groups; Prime Areas and Specific Areas. All of the seven areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.

Prime Areas- Communication and Language, Physical Development and Personal, Social and Emotional Development

These three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

Specific Areas- Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design

Children are supported through the four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.